How did the soviet union collapse?

The Soviet Union collapsed by diminishing Gorbachev's power and propelling democratic forces, led by Boris Yeltsin, to the forefront of Russian politics. And by December 25 of 1991, Gorbachev resigned as leader of the USSR.