Was carl reiner in world war two?

Carl Reiner was drafted into the military in 1943, initially training in the Signal Corps to serve as a radio and teleprinter operator in World War II. However, he auditioned for and transferred to the Special Services entertainment unit and performed for troops in the Pacific theater for two years.