What is a zombie villager?

Minecraft Zombie villagers are variants of zombies that can be cured into normal villagers using golden apples while they are under the effect of Weakness. Like other undead hostile mobs, they attack players, villagers, wandering traders, iron golems, snow golems and baby turtles.