What year did they stop making silver nickels?

The silver nickel was made from 1942 to 1945, during World War 2. Nickel was an important war material, so the US began minting the nickel out of copper, silver, and manganese instead. When the war ended in 1945, so did the use of silver in the US's 5 cent coin.