What is a glycerin melon do in minecraft?

According to "Minecraft Wiki", "Glistering Melons are an item that is crafted by placing eight gold nuggets and a melon slice in the crafting interface. They are used mainly for brewing potions with the instant health effect. It can replace redstone in the brewing recipe for a mundane potion. "