How do you clean an artichoke?

Cut the top third of the artichoke off with a serrated knife. Next remove all the tough outer leaves until you get down to the tender light green or purple colored leaves. Slice about a 1/2-inch off the bottom of each stem and peel the tough skin off the stem and artichoke bottom.