How many days after the sell by date is milk good for?

You could theoretically freeze your milk for up to three months, but it'll turn lumpy and yellow & yucky looking (though it's still safe to drink). The accepted rule of thumb is that if you're properly refrigerating it, your carton of whole milk's expiration date is five days after the sell-by date.