How many fish species are there?

Approximately 33,600 species of fish have been identified.

---

According to Wikipedia, The various fish groups account for more than half of vertebrate species. There are almost 28,000 known extant species, of which almost 27,000 are bony fish, with 970 sharks, rays, and chimeras and about 108 hagfish and lampreys.