Why are eggs so much more expensive?

There are a number of factors currently affecting egg prices in the UK. Rising energy costs, increase in the cost of chicken feed, increase in petrol prices affecting the cost of transport, and recent outbreaks of bird flu meaning many chickens had to be culled.