Are dogs descended from wolves?

Dogs, Canis familiaris, is a direct descendent of the gray wolf, Canis lupus: In other words, dogs as we know them are domesticated wolves. All modern dogs are descendants of wolves, this domestication may have happened twice, producing groups of dogs descended from two unique common ancestors.