Why do they call cats puss?

“Puss” (or “puss-cat," and similar forms) as a term for a cat first appeared in print in the 16th century, and represents another “cat-word” family tree, tied to the Dutch word “poes,” meaning “cat.” Similar words are found in dialects of German, Danish, Swedish, Lithuanian and Irish (“puisin”).