Why was michael strahan out?

He missed touching 3rd base while rounding the bases after he hit a home run. If he would have gone back and stepped on 3rd base before touching home plate everything would have been okay. It may have been 2nd base that he missed touching. It was so long ago that I don't remember exactly.