Why does a ball drop on new year's eve?

The annual ball-drop in Times Square to ring in the New Year is a year-round attraction over Times Square. The ball is in full public view all year. The actual notion of a ball "dropping" to signal the passage of time dates back to long before New Year's Eve was ever celebrated in Times Square