How can trees prevent erosion?

Trees reduce the effect of erosive forces, using their root systems, and foliage. Tree roots hold topsoil in place. Tree canopies protect top soil from the impact of falling rain. Trees can function as windbreaks, or in shelterbelts, to counteract wind erosion.