What is booster fan?

Booster fans inside of heating, ventilation &air conditioning (HVAC) ductwork increase the velocity of air traveling thru a duct system. The booster fan style required for a duct system varies based on material used in duct construction &the specific problems with air velocity. Source Wise-Geek.com