Was the star spangled banner written during the revolutionary war?

No. the Star Spangled Banner was NOT written during the Revolutionary War. On September 14, 1814, at the Battle of Fort McHenry, Francis Scott Key penned a poem, which was later set to music, and in 1931 became America's national anthem, “The Star-Spangled Banner".