Did they ever find the texas chainsaw murderer?

The Texas Chainsaw Massacre was loosely based on real life murderer Ed Gein. Also, the movies Psycho and the Silence of the Lambs were also loosely based on the Ed Gein story. Ed Gein, also known as the Butcher of Plainfield or the Plainfield Ghoul, was apprehended November 16th, 1957.