How many calories should an adult male consume?

Adult males eating 1,300 calories daily can survive, but should eat more, even if they don't exercise, according to "Invitation" author Dianne Hales. Low-activity men who are 187, 165 and 143 pounds "need" 2,600, 2,400 and 2,050 calories daily, respectively.