Why is it called hollywood?

Later on, in 1887, Harvey H. Wilcox officially established the name 'Hollywood' when he recorded it on the land's deed. ... Legend claims that Whitley himself was inspired by the holly and proposed naming the town 'Hollywood' after it. He bought his 500 acres from E. C.