Why is shampoo called shampoo?

It is believed that the word originated from the Hindi word champo, which means to knead or to press. It was first used strictly as a product to wash one’s hair in 1860, but was expanded to include carpets in 1954.

---

Shampoo derives from the Hindi word Campo, which means to massage. The word entered the English language in 1762 meaning a full body massage. These massages were followed by a washing of the hair. By 1860 the word shampoo became used as it’s modern meaning “to wash the hair“.