Why is brunswick stew called brunswick stew?

Brunswick stew is a dish generally involving a tomato base, local beans, vegetables, and originally small game meat, though today often chicken. Brunswick County, Virginia, and the city of Brunswick, Georgia, both claim to be the first place the stew was made and hence it's name.