What's the useless appendix near your epiglottis?

The uvula is at the back of the throat. It is there to prevent food and drink from going up the nose when you swallow.

---

The appendix is nowhere near the epiglottis. The appendix is at the lower end of your digestive system, attached to your intestines. The epiglottis is the flap that covers your windpipe when you swallow, so food doesn't get into your lungs.