What are cats?

The Felidae family have been split into three genera: Panthera (cats that roar – lions, tigers, leopards, snow leopards, clouded leopards and jaguars) Acinonyx (the Cheetah) Felis (all other 'small' cats) Felis Catus would refer to domestic cats.