What's the definition of itself?

The word "itself," spelled I-T-S-E-L-F, refers to an subject of a sentence as also being the object of a transitive verb. In other words, for a verb that's normally used as an action for one thing affecting another, "itself" as the "other" makes it a self-affected action.