What's the difference between a bunny a rabbit?

A rabbit is a small mammal, and a bunny is a small rabbit. You can remember this because bunny and baby both start with the letter “B.” Bunnies are usually small or baby rabbits. Rabbit is more taxonomically precise than bunny, so you should use it in formal writing.