How many pieces of obsidian do you need to make another portal?

In Minecraft, you need 14 obsidian to build the frame of the nether portal. The base of the nether portal should be 4 obsidian wide, and the sides of the nether portal should be 5 obsidian high. This design will use 14 blocks of obsidian.