Where did the expression hold your horses come from?

“Hold your horses” is a colloquialism that harks back to the horse and carriage era, when it was sometimes necessary to keep a firm hold on the reins so your horses won’t go off at the gallop against your wish. It’s evolved to mean don’t be impatient or impetuous.