What do s. o. s. mean?

S.O.S. is a Morse code distress signal originally purposed for maritime use. Many associate the abbreviation to mean, 'Send Out Ships', 'Save our Souls', or 'Save our Ship' but it has no official meaning other than to be a signal of distress and an urgent call for help.