What's a functional region?

A functional region is an area organized to function politically, socially, and economically as a single unit. Functional regions are centered on a focal point that connects other areas by various systems, such as transportation, communication, or economic activities.

---

A Functional Region is a centralized area with surrounding areas that are affected by the central one. A large metropolitan city with several surrounding, smaller, cities is a prime example. What happens to the larger city can affect the smaller cities, to various degrees.