Can dogs cry tears?

Dogs cannot cry for emotional reasons like humans do. A dog’s tear ducts drain the liquid back towards the throat and nose area instead of spilling out. So if a dog looks like he’s crying, there might be something wrong that you need to get checked out by a veterinarian.