How do you ferment something?

Fermentation is the anaerobic break-down of sugar molecules, such as glucose, by micoorganisms like yeast. So you need a sugary solution of what you want to ferment, add yeast and make sure air does not get to the solution by using an air-lock to allow the fermentation gasses to escape.