Do dogs need whiskers?

Dog's whiskers are deeply embedded into the skin, and the follicles at the base of these whiskers are packed full of nerves that send sensory messages to the dog's brain. Whiskers are really delicate and it's been said that they're as sensitive to touch as human fingertips!