What's the difference between motel and a hotel?

Hotels and motels differ in layout and construction. Hotels can contain hundreds of rooms and several floors; they generally have staircases, elevators and internal corridors to the rooms. Motels commonly have a one- or two-floor layout and guests access their rooms directly from the parking lot.