What's the difference between motel and a hotel?

Hotels and motels differ in layout and construction. Hotels can contain hundreds of rooms and several floors; they generally have staircases, elevators and internal corridors to the rooms. Motels commonly have a one- or two-floor layout and guests access their rooms directly from the parking lot.

---

A hotel has interior hallways or corridors that lead to the rooms. Motel room doors face the outside without any interior passages. Motels became famous along the US Route 66 and allowed travelers to drive up to the door of their hotel room.