Why was the star spangled banner written?

Francis Scott Key wrote the song during the War of 1812. After Fort McHenry in the Bay of Baltimore defended the city from the British. On September 14, 1814 the flag was still there. This inspired Francis Scott Key to write "The Defense of Fort McHenry" which became the Star Spangled Banner.