What are titans from attack on titan?

Titans are fictional man-eating giants who have roamed the Earth for more than 100 years, keeping the people of Paradis trapped within the walls. Titans have no reproductive organs and don’t need to eat humans to sustain life, Their origin is not yet known as of the first season of Attack on Titan.