What was the time frame of world war two?

The typical date agreed upon is September 1st, 1939 when Germany invaded Poland; however, France and Great Britain did not declare war on the Germans until September 3rd, 1939. The war ended with the unconditional surrender of Germany to the western allies May 8th, 1945 and Russia May 9th, 1945.

---

september 1 , 1939 to august the 10th 1945