Who did paul schafer play for?

In 1984, Paul Shaffer played keyboards for The Honeydrippers. He is perhaps most known for being the musical director, band leader and sidekick on the entire run of both Late Night with David Letterman (1982–1993) and Late Show with David Letterman (1993–2015).