How long does it take to blanch asparagus?

Here's how to blanch asparagus: Cook the asparagus in boiling water. Boil about 8 cups of water in a large pot on the stove and season with 2 tablespoons of kosher salt. After washing and trimming 1 ½ pounds of asparagus, drop it into the pot of boiling water and cook for 3 to 4 minutes or so.