How far is a galaxy?

Galaxies are composed of billions of stars, planetoids, black holes, dust and gas. They are tens to hundreds of thousands lightyears in size. Neighboring galaxies are millions of lightyears apart. Andromeda, the closest neighbor is 2.5 million lightyears away (and zooming towards us).