Do monarch butterflies sleep?

Butterflies don't actually sleep . Instead they rest, or become quiescent, at night or during the day when it's cloudy or cool. They rest with eyes open, typically hidden amid the foliage and hanging upside down from leaves or twigs in trees and shrubs.