What's princess bride about?

The princess bride tells the story of a distracted young woman, her motivated servant, a dastardly noble and his mean spirited toady, a swordsman, a dread pirate, a sea full of eels and a grand cast of supporting roles. The focus of the story are the adversities that stand in the way of true love.