Why do dogs sniff their butts?

Dogs' version of a handshake is to sniff the backside of their new friend. They learn sex, reproductive and health status, what it's eaten lately, and even the new dog's mood. It's not rude for dogs to sniff each other's behinds, however you shouldn't try the same thing with people you meet.