What are the stages of a butterfly's life cycle?

Butterfly Life Cycle, Butterfly Metamorphosis, Let's explore a butterfly's life cycle in detail, including all four stages of life. All butterflies have "complete metamorphosis." To grow into an adult they go through 4 stages: egg, larva, pupa and adult.