What is pokemon the movie?

Pokémon The First Movie: Mewtwo Strikes Back is a 1998 Japanese anime film directed by Kunihiko Yuyama, the chief director of the Pokémon television series. It is the first theatrical release in the Pokémon franchise. It was first released in Japan on July 18, 1998.