What's the substitute for thyme spice?

Substitute an equal amount of savory, marjoram or oregano. This will come closest to the intended flavor. If you don't have any of these herbs on hand, poultry seasoning, Herbes de Provence or Italian seasoning will also work, since these spice blends all contain thyme.