What galaxy is alpha centauri in?

Alpha Centauri is a triple star system in the constellation of Centaurus, in the Milky Way Galaxy. It consists of 3 stars: Alpha Centauri A, Alpha Centauri B and Alpha Centauri C. Proxima Centauri is also the closest star to our Sun at 4.2465 light-years.