Why is the bottom of fire blue?

Blue flame is due to incandescence of very fine soot particles produced in the flame. With more oxygen, less black body-radiating soot is produced due to a more complete combustion and the reaction creates enough energy to excite and ionize gas molecules in the flame, leading to a blue appearance.