What are the name hot dog come from?

German immigrants brought not just sausages but also dachshunds when they came to the US. The name 'hot dog' possibly began as a joke about their thin, long & small dogs. In fact, the Germans called their dish 'dachshund sausages' or 'little dog', thus connecting the term 'dog' to the hot dog.