How do you ripe an avocado?

Foodiecrush.com says, The easiest way to ripen an avocado is to set it on the counter for a few days to let It ripen naturally. Or, more quickly, place it in a bowl or paper bag next to an apple or banana. Or, to make it ripen in 1-2 days, place it in a paper bag with a banana or two.