How long should you brine a turkey?

The basic ratio for turkey brine is 2 cups of kosher salt to 2 gls of water. First, dissolve kosher salt in 2 cups of hot water. Stir in remaining gallon + 3 ½ quarts of cold water. Immerse turkey in the cool brine, never hot, & refrigerate for at least 8 hours but no longer than 24 hours.